The Account That Owns the Email Address You Entered Has Been Disabled [Meaning]

The Account That Owns the Email Address You Entered Has Been Disabled

Most people don’t give much thought to their Facebook logins. You open the page or the app, and most of the time, you arrive right on your feed. But what if you try to log in to Facebook one day, only to be told that your account has been disabled?

The message “The account that owns the email address you entered has been disabled” means Facebook disabled your account. In simpler terms, that means Facebook banned your account. You need to contact Facebook to get your account reinstated.

For now, try not to panic. Keep reading to find out more about the possible reasons Facebook disabled your account, along with steps on how to recover it.

What Does the Account That Owns the Email Address You Entered Has Been Disabled Mean on Facebook?

If you’re trying to log in to Facebook and you get a message saying your account has been disabled, that means your Facebook account got banned. [1] It has nothing to do with your email address at all.

There are multiple reasons why Facebook disables an account, all of which have something to do with their Terms of Service or Community Standards. [2] If you’re sure you haven’t broken any rules and think your ban is a mistake, you can ask for an account review. [3]

If you know someone who gets this message when logging on, advise them to file for an account review with Facebook. The account owner must submit the form using the email address they used to make their account. The same rule applies to you.

Why Did Facebook Disable Your Account?

First, if you can’t log in but don’t have the account disabled message, your account is still active, albeit inaccessible. It might be a wrong password, so retype it carefully. If that doesn’t work, reset your password.

Facebook doesn’t just disable an account out of the blue, but they also make mistakes. If you believe this is the case, submit an account review form to appeal your account ban. They should reinstate your account once they finish reviewing your circumstances.

On the other hand, there are cases where disabling the account is fully justified, at least in Facebook’s eyes. This usually happens after repeated violations of the Terms of Service or Community Standards. Here are some of the common reasons for getting your account disabled:

  • Posting prohibited content, such as nudity, pornography, or violence
  • Impersonating another person
  • Creating a fake profile for an imaginary person or entity
  • Continuously harassing other users

Most of the time, Facebook issues a warning about your infractions. The warning usually comes in temporary suspensions, such as a 3-day or 7-day mute. Their warning will let you know what earned you the mute or the inability to comment.

For severe cases, Facebook might decide to disable the account without warning you. If you’ve reached this point, there’s no turning back anymore. No matter how often you ask, Facebook won’t reinstate your account.

How to Enable a Disabled Account on Facebook?

If you’re confident that you’ve been abiding by the Terms of Service, yet your account got disabled anyway, it’s time to contact Facebook. Give them whatever information they need as accurately as possible so that there isn’t any room for them to reject your appeal.

Are you trying to help a friend or your child reinstate their Facebook account? They’ll need to fill out the same form, so send them that link and have them fill in their information. They must do the appeal themselves because Facebook will only communicate the results to them directly.

Facebook’s decision to grant or refuse your request is based on your activities when the account was still active. If you were minding your own business and never bothered a soul, Facebook should be able to reinstate your account just fine. They will inform you of their decision via email.

However, if you’ve spent a lot of time on Facebook trying to harass people publicly or via Messenger, then it’s unlikely that Facebook will decide in your favor. If that’s the case, your account will stay disabled forever.

Can You Get Disabled for Making Another Facebook Account?

Most people who get their accounts permanently disabled decide to make a new Facebook account. You probably even have a few people on your friends list who made more than one account over the years, whether to avoid a ban or give up on a forgotten password.

As it turns out, making more than one account is against Facebook’s Terms of Service. They explicitly mention that you can only create one account for yourself and only for personal purposes. Those who own previously disabled accounts are technically not allowed to make a new account.

However, this doesn’t stop people from making new accounts. Some people decide to create a new profile to avoid certain groups of people, marking their accounts as “Old” and “New”. Others realize a bit too late that they have no access to the email they provided during sign-up, so they repeat the process.

If you ultimately decide to make a new account after being told that your old one won’t get reinstated, remember to be careful. Don’t repeat any actions that caused your ban in the first place, and try not to do anything suspicious that would draw attention to your account. Facebook holds all sorts of information about us, such as our IP address, so you don’t want them figuring out that you have a second profile.

And if they do catch your subsequent accounts and disable them again, don’t be surprised. That practice was explicitly mentioned in the Terms of Service as something you shouldn’t do, so don’t expect to get any of those accounts back.

  • Franceen enjoys her wide range of interests - gaming, tech, aviation, railway - with a book or a controller on one hand and a steaming cup of tea on the other. When she's not busy typing away on her keyboard, you'll find her playing video games with her husband.